Contact | Home 
  1. History
  2. Participating chairs
  3. Organisation EPL
  4. Education in EPL
  1. EPL faculty
  2. Research description
  3. Research output
  4. Base figures of EPL


Eindhoven Polymer Laboratories
Prof.dr.ir. H.E.H. Meijer
PO Box 513
WH 4.140
5600 MB Eindhoven

Email: info@epl.nu
Tel: +31402472851
Fax: +31402447355

Eindhoven University
of Technology



Prof.dr.ir. H.E.H. Meijer
Prof.dr.ir. R.A.J. Janssen
Prof.dr. C.E. Koning
G.N.M.J. Verschuren

Dr.ir. P.P.A.M. v.d. Schoot
Prof.dr. A.M. van Herk
Prof.dr. R.P. Sijbesma
Dr.ir. M.H.P. van Genderen
Dr.ir. G.W.M. Peters

Prof.dr. E.W. Meijer
Prof.dr.ir. H.E.H. Meijer
Prof.dr.ir. R.A.J. Janssen
Prof.dr.ir. F.P.T. Baaijens


In the last decade, the activities in the area of polymer science and engineering have increased almost exponentially on the campus of the TU/e. The various polymer groups in the departments of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry (profs. E.W. Meijer, A.L. German and P.J. Lemstra) and Mechanical Engineering (profs. H.E.H. Meijer and F.P.T. Baaijens) expanded in size due to ample funding from existing and novel funding schemes, e.g. NWO, STW, EC, and notably the Dutch Polymer Institute, DPI, since 1997. As a result polymers were regarded as one of the most profound priority areas of the TU/e. Prof. M.A.J. Michels was appointed to a new chair on Theoretical and Polymer Physics at the department of Applied Physics (1998).

Two new chairs, profs. R.A.J. Janssen and U.S. Schubert both appointed in 2000, were established in Chemical Engineering and Chemistry. In the same year, prof. C.E. Koning was appointed as the successor of prof. A.L. German, while prof. A. van Herk was appointed in 2001. The number of part-time professors was increased, to strengthen the liaison with industry, e.g. prof. D.J. Broer (0.4) from Philips. In 2002 it was decided to formalize the existing cooperation within EPL and in June 10, 2003, EPL received the official recognition by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences for a duration of 6 years.